

ST. LAWRENCE HIGH SCHOOL



A JESUIT CHRISTIAN MINORITY INSTITUTION KOLKATA – 700 019 Class: IV

First Term

Social Study Worksheet – 17 Date: 06.10.2020

Topic: India: Location and Neighbours, States and Union Territories

Answer the following

1 Where is India located? Write about the neighbours of India.

India lies in the southern part of the continent of Asia.

India has several neighbours. Pakistan and Afghanistan lie to the west and north- west of India. To the north lie China and Nepal. Bhutan lies in the north- east. Myanmar and Bangladesh lie to the east. The island nation of Sri Lanka lies to the south of India.

2 Write about the States and Union Territories of India

India has 28 States. The states have their own governments. They are elected by the people of the state. Rajasthan is the largest state in India. Goa is the smallest state.

There are 9 Union Territories. The union territories are usually governed directly by the Central Government.

3 Why is India called the Land of Diversity?

India is a diverse country. People of many religion, race, culture and tradition live together. People live without affecting each other's feelings and beliefs to their religion. Moreover India has a Constitution. The Constitution consists of fundamental rights stating that India is a Sovereign, Secular and Democratic country.

4 What is a subcontinent? How many countries are there in the Indian subcontinent?

A subcontinent is a small part of a larger continent. It is separated from rest of the continent by geographical boundaries. It is geographically and culturally distinct or very different from the rest of the continent. There are six countries in the Indian subcontinent. India, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka together form the Indian subcontinent.

Sharmistha Sen